Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon


Nominations for the 2021 All Star Teacher program are now closed.

Please check back for winning teacher announcements and more information.

The Pittsburgh Pirates, Pirates Charities, PNC and The Grable Foundation are teaming up during the 2021 baseball season with the Allegheny Intermediate Unit, Intermediate Unit One, and Kidsburgh to recognize outstanding teachers in our region and give them the thanks and acknowledgement that they deserve for their contributions to our community.

This award is dedicated to honoring teachers who are making a significant difference in the lives of students across the region by providing an inclusive learning environment, engaging instruction and curriculum, encouraging lifelong learning, and inspiring a passion for education beyond the classroom and into the future.

Pirates Charities and The Grable Foundation will select six (6) dates throughout the season to recognize teachers in the following categories: Pre-K/Elementary School, Middle School, and High School. Winning teachers will receive a grant of $1,000 to be used in their classroom, tickets to a Pirates game, special recognition on the field, and much more!

All nominations must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. ET on April 9, 2021 and winners will be notified by April 30, 2021.

Any questions, please reach out to


Amber Urick - Sunrise Estates Elementary School

Anjelica Balkovec Thurner - South Park Middle School

Anthony Castelluci - West Allegheny High School

Brianna Amoscato - Hartwood Elementary School

Jackie Burns – South Side Elementary School

James Passarelli - Franklin Regional High School

Jenna Hixson - Southmoreland High School

Joseph Joswiak - Mars Middle School

Katherine Meucci - Benjamin Franklin Elementary

Lauren Bogus - Streams Elementary

Mark Popovich - Hampton High School

Mark Strosnider - Intermediate Unit 1

Marsha Mosca - Washington Park Elementary

Megan Pintus - John Marshall High School

Megan Sommers - Pittsburgh Westwood Elementary

Mindy Tripp - Triadelphia Middle School

Pam DiIanni - Montour High School

Renee Huber - Slippery Rock Area Middle School

Colleen Hinrichsen - Mars Area Centennial School

Gabriella Miller – Edgeworth Elementary

Gavin Sikorski - Southmoreland Middle School

John Dolphin - Pine Richland High School

John Kopp - Intermediate Unit 1 Educations Campus at Waynesburg

Josh Yost – Warwood Middle School

Kevin Willis - Carmichaels High School

Kristen Tracy - Donaldson Elementary School

Krystal Roberts - Manchester PREK-8

Matt Dado – New Castle Area School District

Matthew Chera - Peters Township Middle School

Mindy Tomas – Sand Hill Elementary

Ryan Scott - Hampton High School

Scott Donnell - Carnegie Elementary School

Steve Large - Steel Valley Middle School

Susan Mellon – Springdale Junior/Senior High School

Suzanne Muncy – Moundsville Middle School

William King - Central Valley High School